NBA’s Michael Jordan Trophy for MVP settles the G.O.A.T debate


The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in the National Basketball Association NBA has been renamed in honor of Michael Jordan, who is regarded as the greatest basketball player to ever step on a hardwood court. The NBA revealed six brand-new trophies with the names of the league’s luminaries, including the new Michael Jordan trophy.

Michael Jordan Trophy

The league revealed the revamped MVP award Tuesday morning, revealing that the yearly winner will now be awarded The Michael Jordan Trophy. After winning MVP during the 2021–22 season, Nuggets center Nikola Jokic will retroactively earn the very first version of the new trophy. The league’s MVP trophy was previously titled after former commissioner Maurice Podoloff, whose name will now be affixed to a new trophy honoring the team with the finest regular-season record.

Design of the Michael Jordan Trophy

Jordan and Mark Smith (Jordan Brand Designer and retired VP of innovation special projects at Nike) collaborated to design the new trophy, which pays homage to the professional life of “His Airness. Combining the number on Jordan’s jersey and the six championship rings, the trophy stands 23.6 inches tall and 23.6 pounds in weight. As a tribute to the five MVP awards, NBA’s highest individual honor, of “Magic Jordan,” the five-sided base has a meaning of its own. Even the 15-degree angle from the base is owing to his 15 NBA seasons. The six-sided nameplate harkens back to Jordan’s six NBA championships.

The redesigned MVP trophy named after Michael Jordan depicts a player emerging from a rock trying to reach a crystal basketball while the patina of the trophy changes from “raw to refined,” symbolizing the MVP’s perseverance in attaining the title. The 1.23″ diameter of the crystal basketball is meant to represent the uniqueness of the MVP and Jordan’s illustrious career. 

Mark smith said in a statement, “As we worked together on this project, it was very important to Michael that the figure not be a likeness of him, but instead that the recipient should be able to see himself in the award,” Michael felt that naming the award in his honor was significant appreciation.

Six newly designed trophies to pay homage to NBA legends

The Michael Jordan Trophy for Most Valuable Player of the Year

The Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year

The Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for Rookie of the Year

The John Havlicek Trophy for Sixth Man of the Year


The George Mikan Trophy for Most Improved Player

The Jerry West Trophy for Clutch Player of the Year

NBA Commissioner Adam Silver states, “Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA.” He further added, “As we recognize the league’s top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards.”

NBA History of Magic Jordan

As a five-time MVP, Michael Jordan is regarded as one of the best NBA players in history. He garnered 11 All-NBA Team selections, 14 NBA All-Star selections, 10 scoring trophies, six NBA Championships, six NBA Finals MVP Awards, and more throughout his career.

The argument over whether Jordan is the greatest player ever has undoubtedly been settled by the NBA. Sam Smith, a writer for said, “The NBA whether they intended to or not settled the debate by saying we’re going to name the MVP trophy after Michael Jordan.” 

Read More:

Croatia vs Brazil: Croatians beat football gods 4-2 on penalties to reach WC semi-final

Fifa World Cup Qatar entry: Hayya card scrapes to boost sports tourism

First all-female referee team makes history at Men’s World Cup

Murryam Hafeez

I am a Transportation Engineer by profession and also a voracious reader. I read everything, from novels to the ingredients written on my jar of peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button