Lahore court issues arrest warrants of 12 PMLN leaders


LAHORE: A judicial magistrate on Friday issued warrants for the arrest of 12 leaders of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) in a case relating to violence in the Punjab Assembly on the election of chief minister held on April 16.

The magistrate accepting the application of investigating officer issued warrants for the arrest of the PML-N leaders including Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan, Sardar Awais Leghari, Saiful Malook Khokhar, Pir Khizar Hayat Khagga, Attaullah Tarar, Raja Sagheer Ahmad and others.

On behalf of the Qilla Gujjar Singh police, an application was moved before the magistrate at Cantonment Courts pleading that the suspects had not joined the investigation despite summons issued to them. The investigating officer asked the magistrate to issue arrest warrants for the suspects so that the investigation of the case could be completed.

The police had registered the case against the MPAs and the assembly’s staff belonging to the PTI and PML-Q coalition government on charges of resorting to violence during the election of the chief minister wherein Hamza Shehbaz emerged victorious against Ch Pervez Elahi.

The several MPAs of the PTI and PML-Q besides the staff of the assembly had secured pre-arrest bail from the court in the case. After the change of the government in the province the police shifted the direction of its investigation in the same case towards the MPAs of PML-N.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button